Chompin at the Bit

Guest Blogger Banner

Well, it is September. Otherwise known the month that I start chomping at the bit for the return of winter. Two nights ago the air cooled down to the point where I had to put on a hoodie. In my mind, as my friends keep chatting, I thought…are we there yet? Like the difference between 65 and 61 degrees means it’s going to snow tonight. It is silly but this happens to me every year.

There are so many exciting things coming up. US Paralympics has the national snowboard team lined up with 2 weeks of training in Austria, teaching vets shred in Colorado, World Cups and potentially Sochi. It has been an amazing opportunity to travel and compete on this circuit last season. The scramble is still on to find the resources to do it again this winter. Last winter’s agenda ran on faith and fumes so I don’t see this one being any different. It will all come around.

The conversations about snow have started too. Fellow shredders are reposting photos and footage of last winter on Facebook. The buzz is in the air. My friend Jay will not stop bugging me about when his warrantied powder board will be here. Dude, it is August, chill out! I have moved little pieces of my quiver into every room of my apartment as a reminder that powder is coming soon. The five months of my life that I live for are three months away. It is painful but it is also part of the ritual. I love snowboarding but I really need a hobby.

Lucas wears Ottobock’s Triton foot on his everyday leg with a ProFlex Sleeve and he wears the Axtion foot and ProFlex Sleeve with his snowboarding prosthesis. To find the best foot for you  visit us online.

To read Lucas’s other blog visit www.originalgimp.org.

Have you faced this choice? What or who helped you through the decision making process? We’d love to hear from you in the comments sections below. 

For more of Lucas be sure to visit  http://originalgimp.org/.

Note:  Two links that may be helpful to you are:
Choosing Amputation from the Amputee Coalition of America, and for anyone who has recently undergone an amputation our Information For New Amputees provides great information for what to expect and the next steps. 

Lucas wears Ottobock’s Triton foot on his everyday leg with a ProFlex Sleeve and he wears the Axtion foot and ProFlex Sleeve with his snowboarding prosthesis. To  find the best foot for you  visit us online.

Leave a Reply

