Greetings from Down Under by Lacey Henderson

Guest Blogger Banner

Growing up, I always knew I wanted to travel and see the world. I never had a solid plan of action, but I knew that I was going to make it happen. Fast forward a few years to my college days, studying foreign languages and international studies, I thought I was on the right track for diplomacy and saving the world. Little did I know that it would be a bet that would jump start my post graduate international career… In athletics (of all things).

Getting back to present day, after just two years out of school and on the track, I have performed in my first international competitions, one including the 2013 Paralympic Track and Field World Championships in Lyon, France. Although I am still so very green in the sport, I have been blessed with making new friends along the way. So after a pretty successful international debut, I thought I would take up a friends invitation to visit the south. The DEEP South; Australia. While the air gets a little more crisp each day above the equator, down under here the weather is just getting right for a new competition season on the track. I was able to squeeze a couple of weeks into my off-season training to play and work a little in the Australian South West.

Looking out my window on to the Indian Ocean, I’m reminded of once seeing the phrase that “life is about the detours.” I’m pretty good at making plans for myself in the future, and then life has a way to changing everything around. I’m so incredibly happy and excited about the opportunities that lay ahead, some that I’m not even aware of.  Most people who have lived through limb loss would agree that becoming an amputee wasn’t buffered into their life plans. But in my personal experience, becoming an amputee has enhanced and opened opportunities in my life that would never have existed. And for that, I am extremely grateful.

From walking, to running, to seeing kangaroos… I’m learning that life is a process where the opportunities sometimes look a little different than expected. And that is totally awesome.

Click on the images below to see more from my trip.

Leave a Reply

