My Well-Earned Vacation!

I have to say that I am more excited about this vacation than pretty much any other vacation I have gone on. The past few months have been so crazy and hectic that I don’t even know where the time has gone. I am getting on a plane with 5 of my good girlfriends and we are heading down to Naples, Florida to celebrate my best friend’s bachelorette party! A girls weekend in Florida –I think yes!

Not only is it a girls weekend, but when the bridal party flies home, I have decided to make it a duel trip and to make my way to Miami to visit my other best friend. I mean, why not?! Two visits from one plane ticket, sounds like a win-win to me. This will be the first week-long vacation I have taken in my life. Being in school and in the hospitality industry my whole working life, a week-long vacation was simply unheard of. Needless to say, I will certainly be enjoying myself and soaking up every minute of the beautiful weather.fl trip It is funny though, as I began to think about what I would bring, I quickly remembered that packing and traveling as someone with limb loss is always a little different than it used to be. It’s a bit more difficult, but every trip it does get easier. There are just more things that you have to bring–lotion for your liner, charger for my C-Leg, not to mention crutches! I have gotten pretty darn good at traveling and I think this time will be easier with a group of us. One nice thing about being a right above knee amputee is I cannot be the one stuck driving the rental car, haha! Silly, but true!

So hopefully the airport security will be a breeze, it is usually a total hit or miss. Either I get right through with few questions asked or it is a full on lengthy debacle about what and how to properly get me through securely. I know that not everyone would agree with this, but for me I prefer (as usual) to wear shorts or a dress and to put it out there right away. For me it is easier. I like saving time, and if someone can see my prosthetic clearly, then that means I have less explaining to do.

I hope for smooth travels, but we will see! This is also the first time I have been to the actual beach since I lost my leg almost 5 years ago! I am so excited, regardless to the fact that a good portion of the trip I will be without my C-Leg, I am still so excited about sitting by the water with some of my favorite people, without a care in the world. Well, I guess I might worry about getting too much sun, but that I can handle.

new nude leg coverI don’t think that I have been more deserving of a vacation in my life. This semester, which finishes the day before I leave for my trip, I was taking 16 credits and I have been working overtime at work. I am happy to say that I made it through and that the sun and beach chair in Florida is calling my name! Pictures upon my return! Ohhh and I almost forgot! I got a fun and beautiful new leg cover to wear and I will for sure be sporting this baby when I am walking around. The picture doesn’t do it justice but I am so exicited!

Leave a Reply

