Run for Bauman

Aaron2

My wife Amanda and I spent the weekend in the Boston area. Our non-profit, Wiggle Your Toes, was selected to be the recipient of funds raised in a 2.62 mile run held in Chelmsford, MA. Chelmsford is the hometown of Jeff Bauman, a survivor of the marathon bombings who lost both of his legs above the knee. Wiggle Your Toes and Ottobock teamed up to help Jeff receive his Genium knees (Jeff is a bilateral AK) after his insurance company denied full coverage.

I was fortunate to have been invited to ride in the lead vehicle along with Jeff Bauman and Carlos Arredondo.  We had a terrific viewpoint of the runners from the beginning – where 450 people lined up at the start, to the end where only one runner finished over a minute in front of the second. He was able to maintain a 5:20 minute / mile pace! With technology like Ottobock 3S80 Fitness Knee available – many asked me if I had tried running yet. I let them know that sitting on my butt in the back of the pickup was the closest I have come to participating in a race – but the truck I was in crossed the finish line first! Choose your battles wisely!

It was a terrific weekend and an incredible event and we were honored to be a part of it! On a side note I just received word that Jeff Bauman just became a dad! He and his girlfriend Erin Hurley delivered a baby girl, Nora Gail! And I thought that my weekend was productive! Congratulations Jeff and Erin!

JeffBauman_race

Leave a Reply

